The aid is limited to the payment of tuition, and applicants are evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • statement of belief,
  • evidence of commitment to the local church,
  • evidence of the call of God in his/her life, and
  • financial need.

All final decisions are made by committee. See SBCV Seminarian Scholarship requirements below.

Charles B. Keesee Scholarship

Virginia students pursuing a degree in ministry could be eligible for this Baptist Scholarship. See link for criteria and application.

Find out more →

Requirements for Seminarian Scholarship

In addition to the above criteria, applicants must meet the following requirements to be qualified:
  • Applicant must be a 1) full-time seminary student seeking a master’s degree or 2) a seminary student seeking a doctoral degree.
  • Applicant must attend a seminary owned by the Southern Baptist Convention or a Bible college/seminary that maintains a conservative, evangelical statement of beliefs consistent with those held by the SBCV.
  • Applicant must be a member of a participating SBCV church that has participated in the SBC of Virginia Vision Virginia Missions Offering during the calendar year.
  • Applicant must affirm a belief in the most recent Baptist Faith and Message Statement

Financial Aid will be awarded on an annual basis, and applicants must complete and mail a re-application form to the SBCV for each year that aid is needed. Recipients must maintain an academic standard of at least a “C” average.

Applications must be postmarked or emailed on or before April 1 in order to be considered for any financial aid, either for the entire school year or for any of its semesters. Incomplete applications will not be considered, and applications will not be accepted for summer sessions.  Applicants will be notified of action taken by the SBC of Virginia.

Attn: Seminary Scholarships
SBC of Virginia
4956 Dominion Blvd
Glen Allen, VA 23060

If you have any questions, please email

Complete the appropriate form and mail or email it to the SBC of Virginia.